Overdue

Posted: May 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

Yeah I know, bout time I posted. Rest assured, I am still here, have just not been motivated to write since getting back from being away.

So much has happened since last post but at the same time doesn’t feel like anything that interesting to anyone else has gone on, so haven’t had a lot to write about really.

I had a lovely, albeit very busy, time away. It was so nice to see everyone and get to spend some quality time with my family, and especially with my lil bubby niece, who as you all know, I love to bits!! She has gotten SO BIG it is not funny…little chubber she is. I spoke with my SIL yesterday and she was telling me Aurelia is the biggest – and youngest – baby at the Mother’s Group she is going to. This kid mustΒ take after her aunty with the love of food thing!!

So Melbourne was first up. Well there was a brief (36 hours) stint in Sydney, as I had flown into Sydney and then drove to Melbourne with my parents. Yes, I know I am game – 9 hours in a car with my parents…enough to drive most people batty. But I have done it before on several occasions and I just know the golden rule – ENSURE iPOD IS CHARGED. So anyway Melbourne was good, I literally did NOTHING aside from hang at my brother’s place and one daily trip to the renowned Doherty’s Gym to train. My thought was that I went down there for family time, and that is what I did. Hung with the family, a lot.

Easter Sunday was a big affair, as it always is in my family. My family and my SIL’s family had a big (and by ‘big’ I mean ‘enormous’) feast. Mum had been summonsed to make homemade lasagna (the only kind I will eat – refuse to order lasagna at restaurants as am always disappointed), so she started making the pasta the night before (at which point my brother requested we have fresh spaghetti for dinner that night…so we did…mmm enough to make me want to move home!) and we put the lasagna together on Easter Sunday morning. Rach’s mum made 3 kinds of roast (as you do!!) with all the baked veggies and extras, and of course there were salads, and about 4 kinds of desserts. Not to mention the easter eggs. I ate my fair share, let’s just leave it at that πŸ˜‰

Sydney was good, managed to catch up with some rellies and close friends which is always nice. My bestie is currently 6 months pregnant and her belly had grown so much since I last saw her, I couldn’t believe it. She actually looks like she is about 8 months pregnant – all belly – she is gonna have a big bubba on her hands! I went to a wedding last Saturday night – it was the wedding of an old workmate from the place I worked for about 9 years, and was like a massive reunion. There were about 40 of us from that workplace there and was so much fun! It was one of the most beautiful wedding I have ever been to – they have been together 13 years and looked just so happy and content – the way it should be. I *may* have also met a Brazilian boy at said wedding and gone to a Brazilian BBQ at his place the next day…which is quite an experience for those who have never been to one. VERY different to the barbies us Aussies put together…the coal bbq was burning, slow cooking the meat, which get sliced as it cooks and passed around on a plate. There were guitars and maraccas and bongoes and a tambourine being played while they sat around singing in Portuguese…such a nice way to spend a Sunday arvo/night. No real spark when I wasn’t drinking copious amounts of red wine like the previous night though – but all good fun πŸ™‚

Not much to report from this week. I have tried to keep the diet as clean as possible as have skinfolds next week and am a bit worried after my Easter splurge…I don’t feel like I was as active as normal while away despite training as normal. So have tried to step it up a little this week since getting back. Tried a new boxing gym on Thursday night, it was a 45min class (I am used to 1-2 hour classes) and let’s just say that I don’t think I could have kept going after 45mins – I was already sweating and out of breath during the warm up! Think I will be returning there πŸ™‚ Hit the stairs this morning and it nearly killed me after a 3 week break from them.

So today – think it’s off to the markets for me. I love the markets πŸ™‚

Leave a comment