It’s been **HOW** long??

Posted: December 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

Well here I am, back again, finding myself about to write about how long it’s been since last post. Except I won’t. Yes it’s been ages and loads has happened, but at the same time I feel like life hasn’t been overly exciting.

I think since last time I made about 4 more trips to Sydney, and am now on my 5th. The final trip – as in there’s no return ticket this time. Most will know, I have moved back, one week ago today. It’s been a very emotional 3 months for me – the lack of training saw me more homesick than ever, and more determined to come back. So when work asked if I would be interested in a transfer down – I jumped at it – and then had to keep my fingers crossed for Β a real long time that it came through. Clearly, it did.

Anyway – so I am home now, I have myself a cute little unit in the Inner West, literally about 300m from my old place, and I don’t remember the last time I felt so content. Life is good. I feel settled, and more importantly, I feel at home – something I never really felt up in Brisbane.

I start at my new office tomorrow which will be interesting. I don’t know anyone there – and in fact, I will be “it” from my department in the entire building – I will be pretty much working remotely, with all my colleagues and bosses up in Brissie. Which will be fine – I actually like working alone without interruption/distraction but will probably feel really weird for a bit. My boss tends to spend a lot of the day talking so will be weird not hearing his voice all day! I am looking forward to a few catch ups – I have a couple of uncles and a cousin working very close to my new office so we have already been busy teeing up some lunches and a Christmas pub lunch with all of us is on the horizon too.

Speaking of catch ups – been enjoying doing that since getting back to Sydney. I had a really good catch up with my friend Jen today that I haven’t seen in almost 2 years……lunch and a couple of coffee shops later we then found ourselves browsing King St Newtown shops, which is something I LOVE doing πŸ™‚ Meeting up with a few other local friends in the next week or so and am looking forward to spending time with some old friends.

The ankle has come a long way since last post. I have only really been full-time out of my boot for about 6 weeks now after 11 weeks in it, and it is getting much better. While I still can’t run or do any explosive-type work with it I have been doing increased amounts of cardio – walking included – and it’s been holding up really well. I do need to find myself a new physio down here and get onto that REALLY soon (probably should have already been onto that but whatever).

Training is getting there – between the ankle and the move it fell a bit by the wayside but not for too long. I have definitely gotten back on the bandwagon now. Comp wise, I am not sure when the next one will be – was looking at October 2012 but have just been sprung with a late August 2012 trip to Fiji (not a bad thing by any means) for my cousin’s wedding, and honestly – not sure I want to be spending a lovely holiday worried about food and comp training as I would be about 6-7 weeks out at that stage. We will see – BUT for the interim I have decided to book myself some photo shoots to give me some short term fitness goals to work towards. Besides – I have never really done a proper photo shoot, so why not!

Hmmm….aside from all that….and without going into nitty gritties about everything (it’s been way too long between blogs to do that) there isn’t a lot more to report. So – leaving it here for now, and hopefully not leaving it too long til next post πŸ™‚

Comments
  1. bfs2009 says:

    Hey Vicki

    Sorry I didn’t get to your farewell. I hope you got my message. I’d only just returned, and just had so much on my plate and one of those things was spending time with Philomena. That’s what I get for being away from her for 3 weeks and all she wants is ‘Mummy’. πŸ™‚
    It’s a pity you didn’t feel content in Brissy, but that’s life and at least you had the introspection to know and act on your feelings. I’m glad you’re feeling happy and content, and I wish you a speedy full recovery, so you can get back into your training full swing. Maybe one day when I visit Sydney (it’s been awhile), I’ll make a point to contact you for a coffee. Anyway…I look forward to more regular blog posts from you. πŸ™‚ XX

    KerryW

    • PrincessVic says:

      Oh gosh I am bloody hopeless!! I did get your message and meant to get back to you…..and completely forgot! Sorry!!
      All good – I completely understood the circumstances!
      It’s ok, I am glad for the Brisbane experience. I did love the place as a place – I just never felt quite like I belonged there if that makes sense. But I gave it a go and I will never look back wondering “what if…?” – something I never want to do about anything in life if I can help it.
      Definitely let me know if you are ever down this way, would love to catch up again – plenty of Cold Rock here too πŸ˜‰
      Take care and keep in touch xxx

  2. Lenya Sharp says:

    Hey Vic
    Welcome to the neighbourhood. Looking forward to meeting you one day πŸ˜€
    As for physio’s, Matt (owner) at PhysioGym in Petersham is great! http://www.physiogym.net.au/
    Take care – good luck for Day 1 at new office tomorrow.
    x

    • PrincessVic says:

      Hey Lenya,
      Yep would definitely love to meet up! Maybe we should do coffee soon?
      Thanks heaps for the physio recommendation – will check the link. Another friend has recommended one in Newtown too so will have a look at both and see what I think.
      Thanks for the well wishes – hoping day one goes well πŸ™‚
      x

  3. Sandra says:

    Welcome home, Vic! Isn’t this lovely weather that we’ve turned on for your return?LOL
    If ever you’re doing the “tourist thing” and head up the Mountains, give me a call and I’ll take you to the best coffee shop ever…xo
    ps – we might get a hold of Kim Dowling, too!

    • PrincessVic says:

      I know – the weather has been just a dream!! Not sure which part of the “It’s Summer” memo Mother Nature didn’t quite get! lol
      Yeah for sure I might have to make a trek up there – will keep you posted – but will probably now have to wait til the new year given it’s crazy time now. I am ALWAYS up for good coffee!!

      x

Leave a Reply

